Who won 2019 cricket world cup?

The 2019 Cricket World Cup is widely acknowledged for its enthralling and unpredictable character, thereby rendering it as one of the most engaging championships in the history of cricket. The aforementioned occasion, orchestrated by England and Wales, occurred from the thirtieth of May until the fourteenth of July, attracting the presence of the preeminent ten cricketing nations worldwide, fervently contending for the prestigious championship accolade.

Highlight of the year 2019 and the participating teams

During the year 2019, there existed a highly competitive atmosphere with the participation of ten renowned teams competing vigorously for the coveted World Cup trophy. The participating teams comprised of Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies. The tournament was structured in a round-robin and knockout configuration, featuring all teams participating in a single contest against each other, ensuring equal opportunities for every team. Upon completion of the round-robin phase, the top four teams were selected to progress to the semi-final stage. The current format adopted for the Cricket World Cup harks back to that of the 1992 edition, primarily owing to its preference over the erstwhile two-group system. The primary objective behind the choice of this format has been to augment the number of matches that are of high stakes. The tournament showcased a plethora of scintillating matches, unforeseen upsets, and remarkable individual displays, thereby engrossing cricket enthusiasts worldwide and keeping them on tenterhooks. Remarkably, the Cricket World Cup had consecutively taken place for the fifth time in England and Wales, with anticipations soaring for the host team which had yet to clinch the trophy.

The Winning Team

Ultimately, the host nation of England emerged triumphant by securing their maiden victory in the World Cup through an exceptionally dramatic manner. Throughout the tournament, the English team, led by captain Eoin Morgan, demonstrated expertise in all facets of their gameplay. The campaign commenced with an impressive triumph against South Africa, followed by a consistent display of formidable prowess during the group phase, notwithstanding some minor setbacks. England encountered several challenges and difficulties en route to the finals; nonetheless, the squad exhibited an exceptional aptitude for rebounding from losses and exhibiting superior performance in pivotal moments. In the semi-final match, they emerged victorious against the reigning champions of the tournament, Australia, thereby creating a momentous opportunity for the upcoming finals with New Zealand. The culminating match, which took place at the esteemed Lord’s Cricket Ground on the 14th of July, was a riveting competition that resulted in a draw, resulting in a Super Over, which likewise concluded in a tie. Ultimately, England emerged as the champions based on their greater tally of boundaries, a regulation that was subsequently rescinded by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The triumph was the capstone of extensive planning and endeavor on the part of the English cricket team and was commemorated as a seminal juncture in the annals of England’s cricketing heritage.

The Final Match

The 2019 Cricket World Cup’s final match has been viewed as one of the most exhilarating finals in the history of cricket. The event occurred at the distinguished venue of Lord’s Cricket Ground, where England and New Zealand exhibited a closely contested encounter in their quest to procure the coveted trophy. The two antithetical teams exhibited an outstanding manifestation of aptitude, steadfast determination, and perseverance, thereby providing a fitting denouement to the contest. The cricket encounter was characterized by a low-scoring tendency, wherein New Zealand capitalised on the advantage to bat first and established a total of 242 runs, subsequently placing England in a pursuing position. The pursuit was marked by an intensified state of apprehension, ultimately culminating in an exhilarating finale in which England successfully achieved parity on the final delivery of the fiftieth over, thereby necessitating a Super Over to determine the winner. The conclusion of the Super Over resulted in a stalemate as both teams garnered an equal sum of 15 runs. Based on the boundary count principle, England emerged as the winner by amassing a superior number of boundaries in the entirety of their allocated 50 overs in addition to the consequent Super Over. The aforementioned regulation prompted noteworthy discussion and, as a result, was ultimately rescinded by the International Cricket Council. Despite any limitations that may exist, the final game of the 2019 Cricket World Cup demonstrated an enduring display that successfully captured the fundamental spirit and enthusiasm of the beloved sport.

Key Players from the Winning Team

The victory of England in the 2019 Cricket World Cup can be credited to the outstanding performances demonstrated by a number of athletes who showcased exceptional and admirable aptitudes and competencies during the tournament. In the English team roster, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler were considered to be pivotal figures. In the conclusive match, the adept sportsman known for his multifaceted abilities, Ben Stokes, significantly contributed to the triumph of the England national cricket squad. “He exhibited remarkable batting proficiency by attaining an influential score of 84 runs-not out, culminating in a tied score and culminating in England’s advancement to the Super Over. " The exemplar resilience exhibited by the individual during trying circumstances proved to be pivotal in ensuring the victory of England. During the Super Over, the cricketing acumen of Stokes and Buttler were utilized as they were specifically selected to assume a batting position. As a result, the team effectively achieved their objective of setting a favorable target score of 15 runs for their opponents, New Zealand. In addition to the aforementioned personnel, a plethora of supplementary players, including Jofra Archer who successfully executed the pivotal Super Over, and the team captain Eoin Morgan, made substantial and noteworthy contributions to England’s triumphant pursuit. The achievement can be credited to a group effort that reflects the exceptional competence and flexibility displayed by the English cricket team.


The 2019 Cricket World Cup served as an illustration of cricket’s capricious and exhilarating characteristics. The tournament resulted in the emergence of England as the leading team, claiming the title of world champions and signifying a momentous event in the annals of English cricket. The triumph of the English team was an outcome of outstanding performances, unyielding perseverance, and a remarkable sense of unity within the team. The culminating duel against New Zealand will be indelibly etched in memory owing to its exceptional circumstances, culminating in a Super Over and a triumph predicated on boundary count. The subsequent disputation surrounding the rule prompted its eventual abandonment. Several key players, including Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler amongst others, played an instrumental role in securing the victory, demonstrating their considerable skill and unyielding perseverance in the face of intense pressure. The triumph in the World Cup has undoubtedly made a lasting impact on the sport of cricket in England, and serves as a noteworthy benchmark for future tournaments. As anticipation builds for the forthcoming World Cup in cricket, the 2019 event still remains indelibly marked by its captivating contests, exceptional displays of skill, and the ascendance of a novel victor - England.

More Articles