ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2009

T20 World Cup 2009



Jack, Mack, Jill,





Twenty20, International,

First Tournament: 2007 South Africa

Tournament Winner: Pakistan

How Many Runs: 6558 (Tillakaratne Dilshan (317), Jacques Kallis(238), Chris Gayle(193))

How Many Wickets: 278 (Umar Gul (13), Ajantha Mendis (12), Saeed Ajmal (12))

The year 2009 witnessed a significant milestone in the annals of T20 cricket, as the United Kingdom hosted the World Cup, thereby assuming a central role within the domain of this sport. In a riveting contest, twelve of the leading cricketing nations from around the world convened at esteemed historical grounds in England, including the Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, the Old Trafford Cricket Ground in Manchester, Trent Bridge in Nottingham, and The Oval, also in London. The T20 World Cup featured a wide range of teams embracing a diverse set of cricketing nations, ranging from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the sub-continental region, to Australia, South Africa, and England as the prominent cricketing powerhouses. Additionally, the presence of emerging teams such as Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Bangladesh further added to the electrifying atmosphere of the tournament.

Location of the T20 World Cup 2009

The T20 World Cup of 2009 was hosted in the United Kingdom, incorporating a variety of noteworthy locations that collectively enhanced the vibrant tapestry of the championship. One of the primary stages for the competition entailed the renowned Lord’s Cricket Ground, located in London and commonly referred to as the esteemed “Home of Cricket. " This apt selection duly acknowledged the significant role played by this venue as it hosted the culminating match. In addition, to the northern reaches of England, the esteemed venues of Old Trafford Cricket Ground in Manchester and Trent Bridge in Nottingham were also prominent in attracting attention. Every venue provided distinct charm and historical significance to the tournament. The revered premises of Trent Bridge, renowned for its magnificent pavilion and extensive historical significance, provided a quintessential English cricket encounter. Old Trafford, a venue known for its rich history and association with the prestigious football team residing in its vicinity, has recently added a contemporary touch through the renovation of its Media Centre. The Oval, situated prominently in London, has notably infused the tournament with a cosmopolitan ambiance, thereby concluding the selection of venues that encompassed a diverse array. The distinctive ambiance and environment of each venue contributed to the overall enrichment of the cricket event, thereby promoting an immersive encounter for both participants and spectators alike.

List of T20 World Cup teams 2009

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. England
  4. India
  5. Ireland
  6. Netherlands
  7. New Zealand
  8. Pakistan
  9. South Africa
  10. Sri Lanka
  11. West Indies
  12. Zimbabwe

2009 t20 world cup final

The culminating event of the 2009 T20 World Cup comprised a captivating confrontation which transpired at the prestigious Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. The contest ensued between Sri Lanka and Pakistan, two cricket teams hailing from the subcontinent and adorned with a significant historic legacy in the sport. Pakistan, under the strategic leadership of Captain Younis Khan, achieved success by triumphing over the formidable Sri Lankan opposition in a captivating contest, evoking heightened anticipation among fervent supporters. Following their defeat in the inaugural T20 World Cup final in 2007, this subsequent event presented itself as a chance for redemption to the Pakistani cricket team, which they wholeheartedly embraced and capitalized upon. The triumph they achieved can be attributed to an exceptional collective endeavor, which is particularly praiseworthy given the prevailing dearth of international cricket in their nation during that period. Despite experiencing the setback of losing the final match, the tournament served as a poignant demonstration of Sri Lanka’s commendable cricketing abilities, consequently allowing them to depart the venue with an unwavering sense of pride and dignity. The culmination of the match elicited a harmonious mixture of jubilation for Pakistan and appreciation for the efforts of both teams, representing the quintessential nature of the sport.

T20 World Cup schedule and score 2009

Date Countries Result
05/06/2009 England v. Netherlands Netherlands won by 4 wickets
06/06/2009 New Zealand v. Scotland New Zealand won by 7 wickets
06/06/2009 Australia v. West Indies West Indies won by 7 wickets
06/06/2009 Bangladesh v. India India won by 25 runs
07/06/2009 Scotland v. South Africa South Africa won by 130 runs
07/06/2009 England v. Pakistan England won by 48 runs
08/06/2009 Bangladesh v. Ireland Ireland won by 6 wickets
08/06/2009 Australia v. Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
09/06/2009 Netherlands v. Pakistan Pakistan won by 82 runs
09/06/2009 New Zealand v. South Africa South Africa won by 1 run
10/06/2009 Sri Lanka v. West Indies Sri Lanka won by 15 runs
10/06/2009 India v. Ireland India won by 8 wickets
11/06/2009 Ireland v. New Zealand New Zealand won by 83 runs
11/06/2009 England v. South Africa South Africa won by 7 wickets
12/06/2009 Pakistan v. Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 19 runs
12/06/2009 India v. West Indies West Indies won by 7 wickets
13/06/2009 South Africa v. West Indies South Africa won by 20 runs
13/06/2009 New Zealand v. Pakistan Pakistan won by 6 wickets
14/06/2009 Ireland v. Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 9 runs
14/06/2009 England v. India England won by 3 runs
15/06/2009 Ireland v. Pakistan Pakistan won by 39 runs
15/06/2009 England v. West Indies West Indies won by 5 wickets
16/06/2009 New Zealand v. Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 48 runs
16/06/2009 India v. South Africa South Africa won by 12 runs
18/06/2009 Pakistan v. South Africa Pakistan won by 7 runs
19/06/2009 Sri Lanka v. West Indies Sri Lanka won by 57 runs
21/06/2009 Pakistan v. Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets


The T20 World Cup 2009 was held in the United Kingdom.
Several venues were used during the tournament, including the Lord's Cricket Ground and The Oval in London, Old Trafford Cricket Ground in Manchester, and Trent Bridge in Nottingham.
A total of 12 teams participated in the T20 World Cup 2009.
The final match of the T20 World Cup 2009 was played between Sri Lanka and Pakistan.
Pakistan won the T20 World Cup 2009.
The captain of the Pakistan team during the T20 World Cup 2009 was Younis Khan.
The victory was particularly significant for Pakistan as it marked their redemption after losing the first T20 World Cup final in 2007.
Sri Lanka reached the final of the T20 World Cup 2009, demonstrating their cricketing prowess, but were ultimately defeated by Pakistan.


The conclusion of the 2009 T20 World Cup resulted in an array of indelible moments that resonated with enduring impact. Pakistan, under the astute leadership of their captain Younis Khan, triumphed in securing their inaugural T20 World Cup championship in an exhilarating final contest against Sri Lanka at the renowned Lord’s Cricket Ground. The successful campaign undertaken by the individuals served as a testament to their tenacity and skill, thereby representing a significant pinnacle in their cricketing chronicle. Despite Sri Lanka’s inability to win the esteemed trophy, their advancement to the final demonstrated their unwavering excellence in the condensed version of the sport. The 2009 T20 World Cup proved to be a grand manifestation of cricket, serving as a commemoration of the unwavering spirit, determination, and cohesive bond among the nations partaking in the event, thus imprinting lasting reminiscences upon followers across the globe.