Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017

Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017



Jack, Mack, Jill,





Test cricket,

Tournament Winner: India

How Many Runs: Steve Smith (499)

How Many Wickets: Ravindra Jadeja (25)

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017 exemplifies the profound heritage of cricketing competition between India and Australia, two formidable forces in the realm of the sport. The esteemed Test cricket series, regarded in commemoration of the renowned Australian cricket maestro Allan Border and the Indian stalwart Sunil Gavaskar, occupies a distinct standing within the archives of cricket’s past. The tournament of the 2016/2017 edition took place in India, where both teams partook in the event with a combination of experienced players and up-and-coming talents. The series, held in numerous illustrious cricket venues throughout India, exhibited a remarkable display of athletic excellence, meticulous planning, and riveting rivalry. This article seeks to explore the intricacies inherent in the series by analyzing the locations, teams, and pivotal occurrences that shaped the Border-Gavaskar Trophy of 2016/2017.

Location and venues of the Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017

The 2016/2017 Border-Gavaskar Trophy was conducted in multiple prominent and culturally significant arenas situated throughout India. The series was initiated at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, a recently established venue renowned for its state-of-the-art amenities and fervent audience. From that point onward, the teams transitioned to the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, located in the city of Bangalore, is an esteemed venue renowned for its central location and vibrant ambiance, as well as its pitch that favors fast-paced performances. The third Test match took place at the scenic JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, a relatively recent addition to the cricket landscape renowned for its exceptional amenities. The ultimate and concluding match of the series was conducted at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamshala, renowned for its captivating scenery of snow-covered mountains and lush hills. These distinctive venues, each possessing its own charm and distinct characteristics, served as an exquisite setting for the fiercely contested cricket rivalry witnessed during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy of 2016/2017.

India squad in Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017

The Indian team selected for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017 comprised a formidable assemblage of skilled individuals, exhibiting a combination of experienced stalwarts and emerging talents. Virat Kohli assumed the role of team captain, exhibiting a dynamic leadership style, while being effectively supported by Ajinkya Rahane in his capacity as deputy. The strength of the batting lineup was further enhanced by the stellar performances of Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay, who had already gained credibility as reliable scorers in the realm of Test cricket. The team further possessed a highly adaptable and proficient bowling ensemble, encompassing the inclusion of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja as spinners, whose indispensable role in India’s tactics on domestic grounds cannot be undermined. The influence of Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma in the pace domain proved to be significant, as they exhibited adeptness in generating bounce and seam movement. The team exhibited a comprehensive set of skills, as exemplified by the presence of wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha and all-rounder Hardik Pandya. Guided by Head Coach Anil Kumble, the team exhibited readiness to confront the forthcoming series of formidable nature.

Australia squad in Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017

The Australian squad assembled for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017 comprised a harmonious integration of seasoned players and emerging prospects. The team was led by Captain Steve Smith, widely recognized for his exemplary batting prowess and astute strategic prowess. The deputy, David Warner, contributed significant offensive power to the uppermost positions of the batting order through his assertive stroke technique. Shaun Marsh and Peter Handscomb contributed additional stability to the batting lineup, distinguished by their adeptness in executing prolonged innings. The bowling unit exhibited an equally remarkable display of skill. The aforementioned cricket team was spearheaded by the accomplished fast bowlers, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, renowned for their exceptional ability to exploit the advantages of the new ball. Furthermore, the team benefitted from the inclusion of Nathan Lyon, a highly accomplished off-spinner widely regarded as one of the most successful in the annals of Australian cricket. Matthew Wade assumed the role of the wicketkeeper and emerged as a prominent figure in the sphere of stumps. The Australian team, benefitting from a balanced combination of young talents and seasoned players, exhibited considerable preparedness under the guidance of head coach Darren Lehmann.

Border–Gavaskar Trophy schedule and score 2016/2017

Date Match Result
Thu, 23 Feb 1st Test, Pune, February 23 - 25, 2017 Australia won by 333 runs
Sat, 04 Mar 2nd Test, Bengaluru, March 04 - 07, 2017 India won by 75 runs
Thu, 16 Mar 3rd Test, Ranchi, March 16 - 20, 2017 Match drawn
Sat, 25 Mar 4th Test, Dharamsala, March 25 - 28, 2017 India won by 8 wickets


The Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017 was held in India. The venues included the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, and the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamshala.
The Indian team was captained by Virat Kohli during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017. Ajinkya Rahane served as his deputy.
Some of the key players in the Indian squad were Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, and Wriddhiman Saha.
The Australian team was led by Steve Smith in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017. David Warner was his deputy.
Key players in the Australian squad included Steve Smith, David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, and Matthew Wade.
The Indian team was coached by Anil Kumble and the Australian team was under the guidance of Darren Lehmann for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017.


Few occurrences in the realm of cricket can rival the level of fervor and thrill elicited by the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The 2016/2017 series proved to be consistent with its predecessors by effectively exemplifying a harmonious fusion of strategic cricket techniques, exceptional individual performances, and collective endeavors, ultimately leaving an indelible impression on both the spectators and participants. The theatrical display exhibited by the Indian and Australian teams underscored the significance of adaptability and resilience amidst adverse circumstances. The inclusion of venues with deep historical significance and diverse playing conditions contributed to the heightened interest and complexity experienced throughout the series. After the conclusion of the series, it became evident that the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016/2017 had successfully upheld its anticipated reputation. Not only did it reaffirm the long-standing rivalry between India and Australia, but it also enhanced the illustrious fabric of global Test cricket.